Societies applaud bipartisan Senate energy bill

Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee Chairwoman Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) and ranking member Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.) introduced a new version of their broad energy reform bill, S. 1460, the Energy and Natural Resources Act of 2017. The bill has a wide variety of provisions, centered on energy efficiency, infrastructure and cybersecurity, as well as federal land management and sportsmen’s access. Of particular note to the energy research community, is the proposed 7% annual funding increase for the Department of Energy - Office of Science over 5 years. ASA, CSSA and SSSA signed on to a letter of support for the bill praising the robust authorization level as demonstrating strong bipartisan support for the essential role the DOE Office of Science plays in driving the nation's economic growth, increasing our competitiveness, and enhancing our energy and national security.