ENERGY SCIENCES COALITION

Statement in Support of the Department of Energy Research and Innovation Act, H.R. 589

The member organizations of the Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) commend the House of Representatives for passing H.R. 589 – the Department of Energy Research and Innovation Act – and urge the Senate to pass this legislation.

H.R. 589 affirms the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science's important contributions to the United States' energy, economic, and national security. This legislation provides a comprehensive policy reauthorization for the DOE Office of Science, which is the nation's preeminent federal sponsor of basic physical sciences research, with impacts in disparate fields, including energy, medicine, and defense.

H.R. 589 identifies and advances vital research activities and science infrastructure across the DOE Office of Science programs. Its focus on improving technology transfer at the national labs and continuing operation of the Energy Frontier Research Centers and the Energy Innovation Hubs, which both help bring universities, national laboratories, nonprofits and industry together, will accelerate research toward meeting our critical energy challenges. Additionally, the bill's inclusion of crosscutting, multidisciplinary research initiatives, such as solar fuels and energy storage, will help accelerate the pace of innovation for potentially transformative energy technologies.

Although H.R. 589 includes several positive policy provisions, it notably lacks any authorized funding levels. ESC is committed to working with Congress in a bipartisan fashion to reauthorize strong and sustained funding for the DOE Office of Science, which has not kept pace with inflation since 2010. Sound policy and robust investment in these programs is critical to our nation's future energy, economic, and national security.

ESC urges the Senate to pass H.R. 589 and for the members of the House and Senate to work in a bipartisan and bicameral fashion to support robust funding for the DOE Office of Science.

Contacts:

Christopher Carter Co-chair 202-974-6310 <u>Chris.Carter@ucdc.edu</u>

Leland Cogliani Co-chair 202-289-7475 Leland@lewis-burke.com

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) is a broad based coalition of organizations representing scientists, engineers and mathematicians in universities, industry and national laboratories who are committed to supporting and advancing the scientific research programs of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and in particular, the DOE Office of Science.

ESC Membership

Agronomy, Crop and Soil Science Societies American Association for the Advancement of Science American Astronomical Society American Chemical Society American Geophysical Union American Geosciences Institute American Institute of Physics American Mathematical Society American Physical Society American Society for Engineering Education American Society of Agronomy American Society of Mechanical Engineers American Society for Microbiology American Society of Plant Biologists Arizona State University Association of American Universities Association of Public and Land-grant Universities **Battelle Binghamton University Biophysical Society Boston University** Case Western Reserve University Clemson University Coalition for Academic Scientific Computation (CASC) Columbia University **Computing Research Association Cornell University** Cray Inc. Crop Science Society of America Duke University Federation of American Societies for **Experimental Biology** Florida State University **Fusion Power Associates General Atomics** Geological Society of America George Mason University Georgia Institute of Technology Harvard University IBM

IEEE-USA Iowa State University Jefferson Science Associates, LLC **Krell Institute** Massachusetts Institute of Technology Materials Research Society Michigan State University Michigan Technological University Northern Illinois University Northwestern University Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) Pace University Pennsylvania State University Princeton University Purdue University **Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute** Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Soil Science Society of America South Dakota School of Mines Southeastern Universities Research Association Stanford University Tech-X The Ohio State University The Optical Society (OSA) University of California System University of Chicago University of Colorado Boulder University of Delaware University of Iowa University of Maryland, College Park University of Michigan University of Missouri System University of North Texas University of Pennsylvania University of Southern California University of Texas at Austin University of Wisconsin-Madison Vanderbilt University Washington State University Washington University in St. Louis West Virginia University